Outfit inspiration: Blush + camel + green (and a pop of red!)


When I saw Joy’s post about mixing green, camel, and blush pink, I knew I had to give it a try myself. This is a color combination I never would have thought to put together, but actually go together quite nicely. I think the overall tones of the outfit really complement each other and make for a great look. It’s a way to really bring a lot of color to an outfit without it being too ‘in your face’ about it. Perfect for those who aren’t big on color, but want to switch it up a little bit from the usual black/white/grey palette.

Here’s what I did.


When I mentally prepared this outfit in my head, the blouse and vest immediately came to mind. The camel part of the outfit was the hardest, I had to go into my closet to figure out what I was going to use. I actually don’t own one pair of traditional khakis, I’ve never had to a reason to buy them. When I was working, I wore scrubs every day and khakis were never something I thought to wear in my off time. I’m just more of a jeans type of girl. But this old lace tiered skirt I got from Marshall’s a few years ago filled the void well enough.

The blush colored blouse is from H&M last year, but it seems to be a staple in their stores because I saw it there a couple of weeks ago in some other colors. My cousin was also wearing it the other day in black! For some reason I couldn’t find it on the website, but I’ll link something similar here. The color I have is a bit sheer so you’d want to have a tank to wear underneath. The green utility vest is American Rag that I ordered online from Macy’s. It cinches in at the waist with a drawstring to give it more shape and it’s a great fall layering piece. It’s on sale now for around $50, but if you’re interested, just wait for the next holiday if you can. They add additional discounts around those times, so I got mine for $38 dollars around Columbus Day weekend.

I kept it neutral with some old taupe suede booties from Steve Madden, but added a pop of color with a red structured crossbody bag. I’d been seeing these furry poofs all over the place lately as a little bag accessory and I couldn’t help but jump in on the trend. This one was super cheap on Amazon (just search for fur bag keychain) at only 7ish dollars. I actually ordered two in the grey color so I could give one to my sister, but beware, they aren’t all alike. The coloring and shape can be a little different, I had to spend some time fluffing mine up to get looking nice and round. Still, not bad for less than $10.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post and thanks to Joy for the outfit inspiration!

7 thoughts on “Outfit inspiration: Blush + camel + green (and a pop of red!)

  1. Yay! I’m so happy you got some inspo from my OOTD post and thank you for linking my blog 🙂 I love the outfit. It is girly yet casual and comfortable. The military inspired vest really toughens up the look of the lacy skirt and pink hue. Perfect balance and nice that you added your own touch with the bag as your pop of color!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice! This is a great mix of feminine with some masculine bits (the vest).
    Does that pink blouse have pleats down the front? Because I was eyeing that last time I was at H&M but it looked really short on the hanger – I didn’t know if I would be able to tuck it in or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

