Beauty mini round-up: October 2015

Another collective review of some of the beauty minis I’ve accumulated with my Sephora purchases. Out of all these products, there’s only one that I’d really want to repurchase (or at least check out in the other shades). I probably won’t be reaching for most of these very often, but I am glad I got to try them regardless.

I wore the Buxom Single Shadow Bar in Mink Magnet, described as a metallic bronze. These are supposed to be ‘primer-infused, powerfully pigmented’ eye shadows. When I first swatched this it looked gorgeous on my forearm, but I’m just not crazy about it on my eyes. It’s more cool/neutral than a typical bronze and it just doesn’t do anything for me. I did need to pack it on with a brush to get that metallic looking finish, but there was no fallout of the little glitter particles in the shadow. It did last pretty well throughout the day, but by the very end of the night (10 hours later) there was some fading. I also tried out the Sephora Rouge Infusion Lip Stain in Peony. This is supposed to feel lightweight, have good color payoff, and leave your lips feeling soft. I do think the color payoff is nice and that the overall feel of the stain isn’t drying like most others I’ve tried. It’s not water thin like the Benetint, it has a thin non-sticky lipgloss consistency. It applies easily and evenly, and while not opaque it does give good coverage to the lips. But it definitely didn’t stain my lips that well, after 3 hours and lunch I was expecting the color to have faded evenly, but it had noticeably disappeared towards the center of my mouth. I didn’t bother reapplying, about 5 hours later it was still hanging around the perimeter of my lips and I just ended up putting on some lip balm and layering some lipstick over it. Unfortunately, neither of these were winners for me and I won’t be buying them in full-size. The Buxom shadow might suit someone else, the formula wasn’t bad I just wasn’t wooed by the color enough to want to see more.

I tried out the makeup I got in my most recent Sephora delivery today and here are my thoughts. The Smashbox Full Exposure Eye Shadow Duo I wasn’t overly impressed with. The matte light brown shade I actually liked overall, it blended easily into my crease and though the color is subtle on my skintone, it’s like the bit of warmth it brings to my eyes. It looks a lot lighter in the swatch below. The champagne shimmer shade was just a no-go. Little glitter particle fallout was all over my undereye area and the intensity just wasn’t there for me. I had to really pack this onto my lids to get it looking halfway decent. I felt like it faded within 3 or 4 hours of application without primer. Maybe this would work better with a primer, but there was too much fallout for my liking. I also tried out the Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lipstick in Kir Royale. This I really like. The formula is awesome, it glides on smoothly and it is opaque. I did use a lip brush to get clean lines around the edges of my mouth. It was super easy to get an even application. It wears nicely for a creme lipstick, after 3 hours although not fully opaque anymore, it was on there evenly and I didn’t need to touch up. It did seem to migrate slightly on one side, but I’m not sure if that happened because I was pressing my lips together a bit too often. I’d probably try it with a lip liner next time I wear it. I’m not sure I’d get this exact color again, just because I prefer darker shades like this in matte finishes, but I’d definitely want to try a nude from this line. It did not however survive the salad dressing from my lunch and it was pretty much gone in the center after eating. I rubbed the rest off to try the Bite Beauty gloss in the same color on its own. I’m not a huge gloss person, but this one is good. The color payoff is high and it leaves a real glossy finish. It’s not overly sticky either. I did notice a slight fruity smell and taste with this one. I didn’t get a chance to take a picture with it, but it pretty much just looks like the lipstick with a shiny finish.


On both days I tried the Clinique High Impact Mascara. Unfortunately, the formula wasn’t going to hold a curl on my lashes. They dropped pretty much right away. It also just didn’t seem to give my lashes enough volume or length, but I did like the feathery look it gave. I only did two coats because honestly, sometimes these mascara sample tubes don’t seem to have enough mascara in them to coat the whole wand! I felt like only the bottom half of the wand had any product on it. It did well in the no-smudge category. There was only a little bit on day 1 and none on day 2. But overall, it just didn’t do enough for my lashes so I won’t be getting a full-size.


All in all, the only products I think were worth purchasing are the Bite Beauty lipstick and lip gloss. I’ve never really looked at their stuff at Sephora, but I definitely will next time I’m there.

Hope this was helpful and will help anyone choosing their next set of point perks!

5 thoughts on “Beauty mini round-up: October 2015

  1. Maybe you can try applying that Buxom over a black / dark base? It might bring out the bronze / shimmer effect more. I think it looks really pretty on your lids!
    Oh too bad about the Smashbox Full Exposure Eye Shadow Duo – usually Smashbox eye shadows are decent though.
    I find that most Clinique mascaras don’t hold a curl on me either. Same with their mascara base – if you’re thinking about trying it – don’t bother, it UNCURLED my lashes! ugh
    Yes this was helpful to me! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on these products. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good idea, I’ll give it a go with a base! But I just wish it was good on its own. I think I’m sticking with drugstore mascara at this point. I’m glad you found it helpful! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

