Burberry Face Contour-Effortless Contouring Pen Review

I tried a drugstore cream contour over the summer, but unfortunately it did not agree with my skin. I watched a review about the Burberry Face Contour Effortless Contouring Pen and the Fresh Glow Highlighting Luminous Pen and wanted to give them a try. I went to Sephora to look at them because I wasn’t sure if I wanted the Medium or Dark contour shade. I went with Medium to keep it more natural. I didn’t end up getting the highlight shade because there are micro-glitters in it (nothing crazy, just not my thing).

Here’s what the brand has to say about it.

Enhance, define, and sculpt the face with this runway-inspired contouring pen. It creates soft shadows to enhance, define and sculpt the face. With a perfect design for precise application, the lightweight texture blends on seamlessly for subtle, natural-looking shadows and contouring without leaving behind any harsh lines. Its domed tip ensures precise, mistake-proof application, making it the ultimate on-the-go contouring pen. There’s a pen for all skintones: one for light-to-medium complexions and a darker shade for medium-to-dark tones. Sweep it under the cheekbones, jawline, and along the nose to sculpt, shade, and define features, or apply it to the eye socket for a wide-eyed effect.

Packaging. Simple and sleek. It’s a gunmetal twist-up tube with a smooth matte finish. The brand and shade is printed along the side. I’m not super wowed by it, but it is functional and I like that it’s a pen style versus being in a pan for ease of application. Just swipe, blend, and go. Rating: 4/5

Performance. The consistency is velvety and applies very smoothly. It blends nicely with a brush or your fingers. It’s also buildable, I like to do two layers, because one is a little too sheer. It does look like there is a sheen to it when swatched, but it’s not evident after it’s blended. If you want a really strong contour this might not be for you, or give the darker shade a try. In a way it’s a good thing because unless you go ham on it, you don’t have to worry about overdoing it and having an obvious striped effect. There is an insert that gives application instructions (the YouTube video will help too!). I think the color is actually quite nice too, it’s not as grey as the Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder so it just looks more natural. It also wears well through out the day and I don’t need to set it with a powder. It also doesn’t break me out (insert sigh of relief here). Rating: 5/5

L to R: application from tube, blended with brush, after blush & highlight

Price: This retails for $37 USD for 0.5 oz of product. I know you’re paying in some part for the name cause this isn’t cheap and obviously the packaging is well made. It does perform well and I’m not against paying more for a really good quality product, but for some reason I’m having a hard time fully justifying the price on this one. I did mentally debate a little before I bought it, but since I knew I could return it if it was completely awful I went ahead with it. I wish it were more in the $20-30 range. Rating: 4/5

Overall rating: 4.3/5

I’ve been using this alone lately without even bothering to use any bronzer. With the Kevyn Aucoin powder I feel like I need to use a bronzer to balance it out a little. I think the kicker on this one is how long it will last, if by next month I’m already almost done with the whole half ounce of it, I probably wouldn’t repurchase. If I can get a few months use from it then I think it would be worth buying another tube. It just seems like so little for so much, but I do like the natural definition it gives.

What do you guys think? Anyone else give this a try yet?

6 thoughts on “Burberry Face Contour-Effortless Contouring Pen Review

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: November 2015 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

