Drugstore skincare loves, likes, & losers.

While I think certain high-end skincare products are worth the splurge, you can definitively get some great, affordable products at the drugstore. Sometimes it’s hit or miss, but typically I like or even love what I try and I thought I’d share some of the with you.

Garnier Nourishing Cleansing Oil: Love

This is my fifth bottle of this stuff and I’ve done a review here. It really gets all my makeup off at the end of the day and even though I have combination/oily skin, it doesn’t leave it feeling greasy. I haven’t used a makeup cleansing wipe since starting up with cleansing oils. The couple of times I did, I found it more abrasive than I remembered.

Neutrogena Ultra Light Cleansing Oil: Like

I tried this when the Garnier was sold out at Target and this was the only other cleansing oil I could find there. It’s definitely not as thick as the Garnier, but does still remove my makeup well. But, this stuff smells like Robitussin (cough syrup, if you’re not familiar). And it stings like nothing else if it gets in my eyes. If not for those two things, I might continue to buy it. I noticed the other day that Burt’s Bees has a cleansing oil-has anyone tried it?
Rimmel Just Let It Go… Gentle Eye Makeup Remover: Loser

I tried this on a whim when I ran out of my usual Neutrogena eye makeup remover. It says it removes waterproof mascara and I do like the Rimmel brand makeup so I gave it a go. Either my waterproof mascara is extra strong or I got a dud because it doesn’t do the job at all. It just left black smudgy residue all over my eyes. I basically use this only when I need to remove makeup swatches from my arm after taking pictures for a post.

Target Up & Up Eye Makeup Remover: Like

I grabbed this quickly in passing when I was rushing around Target after seeing that it was supposed to be equivalent to the Neutrogena. I actually like it better. It’s not as good as some higher end brands I’ve tried, but I do remember thinking my eye makeup came off faster than with the Neutrogena brand. And it’s cheaper so overall it’s a win. The Bobbi Brown one I tried as a sample is the best I’ve ever used, but just too expensive.

 

Shea Moisture Olive & Green Tea Hand & Body Scrub: Love

This is the scrubbiest scrub I’ve ever tried, I read about it on another blog and wanted to give it a go. I feel like I’m actually getting some exfoliation happening instead of just a few beads gliding along my skin. It does leave a residue on your skin from the olive oil which I don’t mind because to me it’s like extra moisturization, but I know that might bother others. This is my second tub of it, so I’d definitely recommend it.

Simple Cleansing Micellar Water: Like

I did a post on this and wasn’t in love because it doesn’t remove my waterproof makeup well. But this is my second bottle because I find it handy for plenty of other things, like removing makeup close to my hairline, tidying up my winged liner if I make a mistake, or if I’ve worn just a little concealer and not much else I don’t need to bother with the cleansing oil.

Pixi Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner: Like
I’d been keeping an eye out for this at Target since it started gaining hype on the b-blogs and it finally got restocked last month. I was still in the middle of my Belif Toner so I set it aside until it ran out. I’ve been using this for the past week and really like it. It has 5% glycolic acid, but it’s not at all stripping. I don’t know if my skin is ‘glowing’, but I’ll say that I think it looks pretty good. I also like that you can squeeze the bottle to dispense the liquid, my other toners don’t have a good way to control the amount that pours out and I occasionally put too much on my cotton pad. I’m not one to talk about how products smell unless it’s really bothersome (like Robitussin), and this is minor. But it smells like lotion. I want it to smell citrusy and fresh. It just mentally equates to ‘clean’ in my head. I’m going to finish this up and see how my skin feels at the end, this is only the smaller sized bottle (the larger wasn’t in stock), so depending on price comparison to the Belif I might stick with it. By the end of the month I should be able to say if this like turned into love.

La Roche Posay Effaclar Duo: Love

This is a little pricey for drugstore, but I’ve had my tube since last fall and it’s still going strong with almost daily use. It was the only thing that helped keep my breakouts at bay and I still rely on it to this day. I use it more sparingly now that it’s not so bad and it’s something I’ll always keep on hand. I have a full review here.

I hope this little round-up was helpful! If you’ve tried any of these please share your thoughts or give me your drugstore recommendations down below.

9 thoughts on “Drugstore skincare loves, likes, & losers.

  1. The Rimmel eye makeup remover is one of my favourites but only for NON-waterproof mascara. I don’t know why it advertises as able to remove waterproof, it’s an outright lie. But for non-waterproof it’s fantastic.
    I don’t love the Simple micellar water either… it smears my makeup around and leaves a soapy film!
    What, you only “like” the Pixi Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner?! It’s such a cult product… I can’t wait to hear if it turns into a “love”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yah isn’t that weird? First I thought I was using it wrong and I even thought maybe if I hold the cotton pad over my eye longer it might work? Nope. I only wear waterproof mascara so it just didn’t work out. It’s only been a week and a half so I don’t wanna jump the gun just yet. It’s almost like when a product gets so much hype you expect miracles right away? I do hope it turns to love and I’m glowing by December!

      Like

Leave a Reply

