It’s So Big! Volumizing Mascara by Elizabeth Mott Review

I was browsing through Urban Outfitters online and figured I’d check out the beauty section. And I couldn’t resist. This is the first of 5 products I bought, and I think the only non-Asian beauty brand. Well, it’s made in Korea, but I believe the brand is based in the US (correct me if I’m wrong). I find that UO has a knack for finding up and coming brands. After reading the few reviews (6 total) and it’s ‘no smudging’ claim I just had to try the It’s So Big! Volumizing Mascara by Elizabeth Mott. And it’s supposed to be easily removed with water, provide length and volume. Sounds too good to be true, but I was willing to shell out $20 to find out.

  

Here’s what the brand says:

A unique formula that lengthens and curls your lashes without smudging! Maintains mega volume for the whole day and is easily removed.

The hourglass brush shape, with its long and short bristle pattern, delivers just the right amount of mascara to each lash (like magic!). Watch your lashes grow BIGGER with each layer.

Packaging: It’s pretty standard, just your basic black tube with the name printed in pink. NBD really, but also nothing to complain about. Rating: 4/5

Performance: The formula of this mascara is definitely different, it seemed to pull out of the tube like melted mozzarella. It also looks like there are some lash fibers in there. The brush is supposed to help coat every lash perfectly, but I strangely had a hard time coating my left eye evenly, I think because the dip in the center of the wand made it hard to reach the lashes in the center. You can tell in my first coat that the center lashes of that eye (the one closest to the text) don’t seem as coated as the other side. It worked better on the next eye for whatever reason, maybe there just wasn’t enough product on the brush when I first pulled it out. This stuff dries fast because it was hard to brush through on the second coat because the lashes seem to adhere together, but it doesn’t clump them together in a ‘spider lash’ way. I also think the brush is so dense it makes it harder for me to really get to the base of my lashes and pull the brush through them. I usually like plastic ‘teeth’ mascara brushes that make it easy for me to work the brush through.  I do like the effect the mascara gives, although I think it’s more lengthening than volumizing. It doesn’t hold a curl as well as a waterproof formula, but it doesn’t drag my lashes down either.

At the end of the night there was a very small amount of smudging. Like I had to use a cotton swab to make sure because I could barely see it. And it was easily removed with water, it came off in clumps as I ran my fingers across my lashes. Pretty good for a nonwaterproof formula! Rating: 4/5

Price: At $20 a tube, I think it’s worth it. I think it mostly lives up to its claims and it’s not insanely overpriced for a “high-end” mascara. I still like the look I get from the Covergirl Supersizer slightly better, BUT the minimal smudging and easy removal are major pluses. Rating: 5/5

Total rating: 4.3/5

I bought one other mascara from UO, so if that’s a dud, I actually would repurchase this. It gives good definition, it’s easy to remove, and has barely there smudging. Awesome for every day use, and even special occasions where you’re not likely to cry your eyes out (I’m a crier so this would be a factor for me).

It’s also cruelty free!


I haven’t posted for the past week because I had my final and Ava’s birthday was this week (she’s officially 2!). I usually write my posts for the week before and with studying and just wanting to relax afterwards, I decided to take a little ‘blogcation’. I also have been in this phase of not wanting to put on makeup unless absolutely necessary! My skin has been behaving and looks the best it ever has in a long time. So I’ve been embracing my bare face. But since we went to M’s work holiday party the other night, I figured I may as well test this mascara out since I was definitely going to be putting makeup on. And since I haven’t posted any makeup and outfit looks in awhile I thought I’d share this one.

I kept the eyes light with just some shadow in the crease and black liner. I added on some Ardell demi wispies too. I wore Nars Orgasm blush and the Stila liquid lipstick in Beso.


For the outfit, I wore this red lace trapeze style dress by Free People that I got from Rue La La a few years ago. I haven’t had a chance to wear it until now, but I’m glad I had it because I thought it worked perfectly for the occasion. I paired it with a classic black bag and some strappy heels.

Anyway, I hope everyone is having a great holiday season so far! And if you’ve tried any Elizabeth Mott products, please share them!

6 thoughts on “It’s So Big! Volumizing Mascara by Elizabeth Mott Review

  1. Pingback: Current favorites: December 2015 | Always, Bree

  2. Pingback: Current favorites: January 2016 | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

