Top 5 annoying things about having kids.

1. There are always dishes in the sink. Like the second I’m done doing dishes, I blink and there are more dishes. It’s crazy. As soon as Ava’s old enough, this is the first chore I’m teaching her.

2. Coming up with and cooking meals that your toddler will actually eat. Number one, ugh, I hate having to cook all the time. I used to enjoy cooking and baking, but now it just means more dishes. I’m sitting here writing this post procrastinating on making dinner. And making something your kid actually wants to eat? It’s a crapshoot.

3. Dora the Explorer (or any of her counterparts). I don’t really need to elaborate here, but yah, we have every episode on DVR because I can’t even stand watching the same episode over and over again. Mainly, I miss watching the news and reality TV.

4. Folding tiny human clothing. Nothing is more tedious than folding miniature versions of your own clothes. Okay, I lied, folding infant clothing is probably worse. But again, it still feels endless.

5. You’re picking up this 28474882 times a day.


She’s getting better with cleaning up when I ask, but as soon as one thing is picked up, she’s dumping more stuff on the ground. I wish I could just let it go and not be the pick up police because I know it’s not going to stay clear for more than 2 minutes anyway, but I can’t. Just looking at this picture kicks in my anxiety.

Okay, enough mom complaining. But, she’s lucky she’s cute.

11 thoughts on “Top 5 annoying things about having kids.

  1. Well, as best as a fifteen year old can, I can assure you that the cleaning up will kick in once she’s about 4 or 5 years old. Just keep reminding her to clean up and drill it into her mind, and it’ll start becoming a habit. That’s what my mom did to me lol. And for number 2, the only things I wouldn’t eat were peanut butter, apple sauce, eggplant, onions, and mushroom….basically a lot of things lol. My mom mostly fed my dumplings, eggs, and rice. Soup too. You can’t really argue with soup especially if it’s chicken noodle soup.

    As for number 1, not to add to your anxiety, but I still don’t wash the dishes LOL. My mom says I “have no life skills.” I can’t cook and my mom took away the microwave for some reason, so I just eat potato chips now, or bug my sister until she cooks me something. On the bright side, my sister can wash dishes so the dishes still get done occasionally.

    Another tip: I don’t know if it’s my position to say this, but as a someone of the modern generation of iPhones and technology and all that stuff, I’d highly recommend getting her interested in reading. Like if she’s bored, give her a book instead of Candy Crush. It really does affect learning and insight, and you’ll probably see that more clearly in her teens. Basically, just try to steer her away from all the tech unless she absolutely needs it. Some of it’s fine, but just make sure she doesn’t become obsessive and doesn’t depend on it. Just something to consider. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, I know it gets easier and she will be more self sufficient, she’s only 2. Just having a particularly rough mom day. In terms of all the ‘tech stuff’, Ava doesn’t get that much screen time, but when she does, she wants Dora. She doesn’t have her own iPad and the only time I let her watch something on my phone is when we’re out and I just need to make it out of Target without having a complete meltdown because the line is 10 people deep. I’ve been reading to her since she was only a few weeks old and she actually loves to read (just like mommy I like to think). I can see how the post may look like she watches a ton, but she actually doesn’t, we’re using coloring, reading, or out and about. πŸ™‚ But, all moms are different and will make their own decisions on how much is too much. Thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

