A beauty-mini quickie: Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation

I’ve wanted to try the Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation for some time because of my love for the brand’s Veil Primer. It was offered as a sample recently on the Sephora website and I decided I may as well go for it. I’ve looked at the shades online and thought that Nude was probably a closest match to my skin anyway.

The foundation is on the thin, liquidy side and dries down to a powder finish. I used a Real Techniques buffing brush to apply it-they also recommend using your fingers. It does set quickly so you need to work fast. I did one layer, then applied a bit more just to the places where I needed it. I think the coverage is a good medium, it definitely evened out my skintone and covered up the redness around my nose. I didn’t want to go with another full layer because it looked like if I did, it was going towards the dry, cakey side really quick. I didn’t feel like it needed to be set with a finishing powder because it really does have a powder-like finish and looks like it too. I think setting it would have been major overkill.

The before and after. I did use the Veil Primer with it.

After the rest of my makeup.


And about 5 hours later.

You can see its worn down around my nose area, but it did help to control my oily T-zone. I’m usually much oiler looking by now. Everywhere else it held up pretty well. By the eighth hour, I definitely needed to powder my nose, it was dark by then and I didn’t bother with a picture.

So I’m glad I got to try this sample because I wasn’t blown away by it and buying a full-size would have cost $55. Not worth it for me, I actually prefer the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte to this.

Have you tried the Hourglass Immaculate? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “A beauty-mini quickie: Hourglass Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation

Leave a Reply

