Smith & Cult Nail Lacquer in No Poem Review

I went back to my usual spot to get my eyebrows done and couldn’t resist picking up a new Smith & Cult Nail Lacquer. The one I’d purchased last time was a pale pink shade and I wanted to get something dark for the winter. The owner directed me to the newer shades released for the season and I immediately gravitated towards No Poem.

I wanted to pick up one of the opaque shades because I like being able to do one quick coat because I’m usually short on time and I don’t like to wait forever for my polish to dry. I’m just too impatient. The color is described as an ‘opaque deep asphalt’. To me, it’s a dark grey shade with some dusty blue undertones.

From the brand:

Smith and Cult’s Nailed Lacquer consistently delivers both flawlessly smooth coverage and brilliant shine. While custom tailored to provide high performance, the exclusive 5-Free formula is formulated without Dibutyl, Phthalate, Toluene, Formaldehyde, Formaldehyde Resin and Camphor.

 

Packaging. It’s gorgeous. I just love it. I like that the bottle is on the shorter side so I think it will make it easier to reach the polish at the bottom as I use this up. I like the silver script and melted metal cover that is removable. The brush is pretty standard, but slightly more flat than typical. Rating: 5/5

 

 

Performance. It glides on smoothly and is pretty opaque in one coat. As long as I had enough polish on the brush, I could paint each nail without doing a second. There were some small spots where it didn’t cover completely, but overall it did the job in one coat. The longevity ranged from 3-4 days, which is typical for me. I think using the brand’s top and base coat are supposed to help with it lasting longer, but I don’t have them. I used Essie for my base coat and Out The Door for my topcoat. Rating: 4/5

 

 

Price. These are not cheap at $18 a bottle, but honestly I think it’s worth it. The formula makes it easy for someone like me who’s not great at painting her nails to get a nice result. And I like that I only need one coat. The packaging obviously contributes to the higher price rage here, but it’s gorgeous so I’m not complaining. I think if it lasted longer, I’d give it a full rating. Rating: 4/5

Total rating: 4.3/5

I think the Smith & Cult Nail Lacquers are worth the splurge, the quality of the polish is great, the packaging is beautiful, and the names and colors are pretty cool. Some shades you can find with other brands, but some are pretty unique. I can’t wait to add number 3 to the two that I have already. I reviewed Pillow Pie here, if you’re interested.

Thanks for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Smith & Cult Nail Lacquer in No Poem Review

Leave a Reply

