Baking basics: Getting that picture perfect face


There are so many makeup trends out there from strobing to ‘Pinterest brows’ to recreating the perfect Kylie Jenner lip look, it’s hard to keep up. Honestly, other than Kylie’s lip color, I didn’t take any of them under real consideration. Until I read an article about how “baking” your makeup could give a picture perfect finish to your makeup look. I’d seen a few makeup tutorial thumbnails on YouTube with titles like ‘Bake Your Face’, but I dunno, that didn’t seem very appealing to me. I wasn’t intrigued enough to find out. But after reading this article, I decided to actually try it. I’ve done it a few times since and thought I’d share my thoughts on the ‘baking’ technique.

So what is it anyway? It’s a technique that has been used by drag artists for years that involves applying a heavy layer of loose powder to set your concealer and areas you’d like to highlight to give it a perfectly set look that brightens and looks great in pictures. After letting the powder ‘bake’ or sit on your face for 5 minutes or however long you want, you dust off the excess and ta-da! You’ve baked your face. I think the heat of your skin allows the oils from the concealer to meld with the powder to get that ‘flawless’ finish.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Concealer
  • Makeup sponge (I like the Beauty Blender)
  • Loose setting powder
  • Powder brush

The process is pretty simple. You apply concealer to all the areas of the face you want to brighten, like under the eyes, bridge of the nose, center of the forehead and chin. Apply the concealer in a triangle formation under your eyes and extend it up towards your hairline. After blending in your concealer, use your dampened sponge and load it up with loose powder. Be generous because you want to apply a heavy layer of it to all the areas you concealed. Once that’s done, you let the baking begin. I’ve seen anywhere from letting it set for 5-10 minutes or however long it takes you to finish the rest of your face.

After trying this a few times, I’ve found that putting in a super heavy layer of powder is just too much for me. It’s almost too bright and obvious. So I tend to keep it a little thinner, but still obviously powdered.

This is the result.

My undereyes look much brighter than if I just set them the traditional way, with a light dusting of powder. The center of my face is overall brighter.

For going out at night, I think this is a great look and I do think if makes your makeup look more ‘done’ in pictures. But I wouldn’t do this for a regular day just heading to Target. It can make your undereye area look dry and emphasize fine lines if your have them. You’re not going to notice these things so much in the dim lighting a nighttime event, but in the bright sun, yah it’s not going to be a good or very natural look. So it looks flawless under the right conditions, but in natural, bright lights not so much. I tried it using my Besame powder, which I think can make my undereye area look a little dry even with just a light dusting. Maybe with another powder it would give a better finish.

You can also do this to the area under your cheekbone contour if you want it to look more defined, I’ve tried it on myself and don’t really like the effect on me. It was just too light looking in that area and I had to dust bronzer over it to tone it down.

What do you think about baking? Have you tried it yet?

 

14 thoughts on “Baking basics: Getting that picture perfect face

  1. I only began hearing about baking in December… maybe I’m super late or it’s just super new. Anyway, it does look great! I haven’t tried it out for myself, and I’m not sure if I ever will, but it looks great! Love the eyeshadow by the way ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THANK YOU, for telling it like it is re: potential dryness and unnatural looking appearance. THAT’s what I’ve been worried about whenever I hear about “baking”. I keep thinking, there’s NO WAY this will look natural – all that powder will emphasize ANY fine lines. I think it is much more of a photography type of look rather than in real life, face to face type of a look, ya know? That sad, your under eye area does look very bright and lift in the photos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for giving credit where credit is due! Baking is a drag makeup trick! I had one YouTuber actually attribute the baking to Kim K’s makeup artist! SMH
    If anything Tyra Banks introduced baking to the world on her show way before Kim K did. Miss Kim actually popularised the method, she didn’t invent it…

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so crazy how much power the Kardashians have over makeup trends! It’s just like Kylie’s lip color, people were doing that in the 90’s it’s nothing new.

      Like

    • I’ve thought about buying them, but since I can’t just pick them up in a store I haven’t been tempted enough to do it. Maybe when I run out of the Besame powder, I don’t bake often enough to justify the purchase.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

