NYC High Definition Liquid Eyeliner Review

My Kat Von D Tattoo Liner is starting to dry out, so I decided to pick up the NYC High Definition Liquid Eyeliner on the recommendation of Harivain (thank you!). I’d planned to get the liquid liner in the brush and bottle style I’ve seen before, but was happy to see they came out with a new pen style version. I just find using a pen easier so I decided to choose that one.

Packaging. It’s the standard pen style with a felt tip, but the felt tip is very stiff. I was expecting it to be finer, it’s not as small as shown on the outer package. I wish the felt tip was more flexible as well. Rating: 2/5

Performance. I wasn’t expecting to like this as much as I did, but I was actually pleasantly surprised! I was able to get a good wing with this, although it doesn’t glide as smoothly as a brush tip. The firmness of the felt tip actually gave me more control when drawing the wing. Again, in comparison to the KVD Tattoo Liner it’s not as deep black on the first swipe, you’ll need to build it up to get it as dark as you want. It actually does last pretty much all day without smudging into my crease. Rating: 4/5

 

Comparison with the KVD Tattoo Liner.

Swatched.

Price. This was $3.62 at Target and for the price I think it’s totally worth it. I do have to work with it a little more to get the results I want, but overall it does the job. I’ll definitely be using this up and I’d even repurchase. Although it’s not perfect, it’s an easy alternative to buying the KVD liner all the time, which does run out kind of fast if you’re using it daily. I can save it more for special occasions. Rating: 5/5

Total rating: 3.6/5

 

I think the NYC High Definition Liquid Eyeliner is definitely worth a try. I still prefer the brush tip pen liners better, but for the price I don’t mind working a little harder. I’m still curious to try the original liquid liner from the brand to see how that stacks up. I’m thinking the pigmentation might be even better. If you have any thoughts on it, let me know!

 

3 thoughts on “NYC High Definition Liquid Eyeliner Review

  1. That’s good you can find a reasonable drugstore product for everyday use – have you ever tried the Physician’s Formula Eye Booster liner? That sucker lasts forever in the pen (ie it doesn’t run out fast) as well as wears like iron! It’s not AS cheap as the NYC but if you ever see it on sale, give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: NYC Liquid Eyeliner Review | Always, Bree

Leave a Reply

