Current obsessions: January 2016

Just wanted to share some of the things I’ve been loving as of late and take a break from all the makeup talk. Most of these are accessories I’ve been reaching for regularly and the one is on the entertainment spectrum.

In no particular order.

Faux fur stole. I had a faux infinity scarf that I actually bought twice because I lost the first one. Then the replacement got lost and I couldn’t bring myself to buy a third. This faux fur stole by Sole Society filled the void and I’ve been wearing it most days, with both casual and dressy outfits.

Classic baseball cap. I initially wanted the black one, but it sold out the day after I found it. I always do that, I put something in my cart, decide to buy it the next day and it’s gone. The grey was still available so I snapped it up. It’s just perfect for bad hair days and no makeup days-it makes that tired, no time to brush your hair look much less glaring. And I love that it’s just very basic, just grey without any other embellishment. It has that sporty, but not overly so. I got it on the Nordstrom site, but I couldn’t find it to link.

 

Black denim. I’ve been living in black jeans lately, so much so I added another pair. These are the Top Shop Jamie style, they’re high waisted and they come in petite length which is always appreciated. I like Top Shop denim, the quality is good, but not extraordinately expensive (gone are the days I spent more than $100 on a pair of jeans).

Throwback sneakers. These Adidas Superstar sneakers are so nostalgic for me because I wore the same ones in middle/high school. Everything really does come back in style. Mine are already looking pretty worn because I wear them almost everytime I leave the house. My wardrobe is pretty monotone nowadays so these work with everything I’ve been wearing.

img_8822

 

Photo from Mental Floss

Questionable murder convictions. I’m probably really late to the game on these, but I’m hooked. It started with ‘Making A Murderer’ on Netflix, which led me to the podcast ‘Serial’. I pretty much binge watched/listened to both for the past few days. Both tell the stories of individuals who may have been wrongly accused of murder, but also highlights that our justice system is not as ‘just’ as we’d like to believe.

If there are any other Netflix series or Podcasts I should be listening to, please share them!

10 thoughts on “Current obsessions: January 2016

  1. Ooo I love the baseball cap! The items in this post are pretty monochromatic lol. And Superstars! I didn’t realize they were popular back then too. I’ve been seeing them popping up all over the place recently.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. With the cap and sneakers, you look like a teenager! 😉
    I’ve heard mixed reviews about ‘Making A Murderer’ – that it’s very one sided and biased. I haven’t watched it but I plan to.
    Are you listening to the first Serial? If so… let me know what you think of it when you’re done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha that’s what M tells me, he feels like he’s walking around with a teenager! I read a few articles after watching MAM that do make it sound biased, but I think the overall message about the kinks in the criminal justice system stand true.
      Yes I really liked the first Serial! I even listened to a few episodes of Undisclosed, I’ll definitely be following any news of his appeal coming up next month!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

