Current favorites: January 2016

I’ll be the first to admit-my favorites this month are a little boring. I haven’t been using anything super exciting and new makeup-wise for long enough to call it a favorite and I’ve actually been jumping around in terms of eyeshadows, blushes, and lip colors. I’ve been trying to narrow down what I really like and what’s worth keeping to do another makeup purge at some point.

There are a couple of new things in there that I got this month that are worth a mention and some oldies that have been used more frequently too.

 

And go.

Simple Cleansing Micellar Water. I’ve reviewed this in the past and said I don’t like it for removing my makeup. But what I do like it for is doing a quick cleanse in the morning when I’m either too lazy or too rushed. I was initially worried I was going to break out from not doing a good old soap and water cleanse, but my skin has been absolutely fine. And it’s not an everyday thing. I also like it for cleansing in the middle of the day after using my Garnier Cleansing Oil to remove my makeup. It keeps my from overdrying my skin from doing the traditional washing 3 times a day. It’s just super handy to have around and I always have a bottle on backup.

La Roche-Posay Anthelios 45 Ultra Light Sunscreen Fluid. I’ve mentioned before that I’d collected so many minis of the Clarins sunscreen that I was waiting to get through them all to buy a bottle. Well, last year I finally was on my last tube and earlier this month it had mysteriously disappeared (read: Ava took it off my vanity and I just can’t find it). Another thing that happened last year was thus Clarins reformulated their sunscreen and the reviews weren’t good. So I decided to just something else. I did a Google search and came across this one. And I’m glad I did. It’s super light, dries down smooth, doesn’t leave a white cast, and doesn’t break me out. I also got it on sale for around $20. This makes me nervous that the brand may be discontinuing this as well, so I’m planning to check my local Targets to see if they have anymore left. The bottle is pretty big and should last me awhile though.

Holika Holika Wonder Drawing Eyebrow Pen. Although I gave this a pretty lukewarm review, it does fall in the category of ‘get ready quick’ makeup items. I’ll link the post I did here. Because the tip is angled and wider, I can fill in my brows in just a few strokes. I used it this morning because I rushing to get Ava to her play gym class. I’ve been having trouble getting up early to get ready lately and this has definitely been a lifesaver. If you have relatively full, thick brows you might like this.

NYX Proof It! Waterproof Mascara Topcoat. Anytime I’ve been wearing mascara other than the It’s So Big! by Elizabeth Mott (review here), I’ve been using this to keep my mascara from smudging. It really keeps the ‘raccoon eyes’ to a minimum for me. I also reviewed this here.


Beauty Blender. I usually break this out only when I’m doing my makeup for an occasion, but lately I’ve been using it anytime I wear foundation (forgoing my usual go-to, the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush) or even just to blend my concealer after using a tinted moisturizer or CC cream. I like that it blends everything seamlessly and that it lightly sheers out the foundation so it’s not so heavy. I remember the days when I liked my face to be super full coverage-meaning liquid foundation set with powder foundation, but now I like keeping it more natural. If I have a blemish I don’t even bother spot concealing, it doesn’t bother me like it used to. I guess you really do become more comfortable in your own skin as you get older.

Real Techniques Setting Brush. We were at Kohls the other day and I couldn’t resist picking this up. I didn’t realize they carried the brand! Anyway, I’ve been using this to set my undereyes and wherever else I put concealer and it works perfectly. I’ve tried using it to blend my concealer as well, but I feel like it takes a little longer since it’s not too dense, so I do prefer it for powder. And the size is just right for getting under my eyes and around my nose.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading!

8 thoughts on “Current favorites: January 2016

  1. Have you tried the Micellar cleansing wipes?? I am obsessed with it.. It’s more convenient than the water as I don’t need to use cotton pads to apply them.. I’ve used up a few packs already..☺️☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

