Caolin Premium Blackhead O2 Bubble Pore Pack Review

Other than having acne prone skin, the blackheads on my nose are next on my list of complaints. I got them in high school and they’ve been with me ever since. I’m always self-conscious of them, because I can see them from a distance and it just annoys me. I actually am envious when I see people who don’t have them (yes, I’m the weirdo checking out people’s noses). I also have large pores around my nose that I’m not crazy about either. I read an article about new skincare on Refinery29 that mentioned the Caolin Premium Blackhead O2 Bubble Pore Pack and I was intrigued enough to give it a try. I was just coming off the disappointment of another blackhead removal product (reviewed here) and needed a pick me up. Plus, the whole ‘bubble’ thing had me curious.

Did this do the trick? Keep reading to find out.

Packaging. This mask comes in a pretty standard jar and I do like the design. It’s kinda quirky with the words “Where is Pore?” on the cover and the old school feel of the label. It also comes with a little scoop to keep things hygienic. Rating: 5/5

Performance. The mask is a thick black gel-like consistency with some microbeads in the mix. It has oxygen and charcoal in the mask are supposed to help clear your pores. I scoop up a dollop about the size of a marble and rub it into clean skin. The mask starts bubbling almost immediately and it’s pretty cool and weird at the same time. I keep rubbing it in until my face is covered, even going over spots that have bubbled, but they puff right back up. I leave it on for 10 minutes during which the bubbles start to dissolve and a transparent layer of the black mask is left on your face. It rinses off pretty easily with some warm water.

I’ll be honest, the first time I tried this mask, my response was pretty lukewarm. I think that again, my expectations were too high and I thought I was going leave me with a perfectly poreless nose. Well after the prescribed 10 minutes, they were still there. But my skin also felt much smoother and my pores were smaller. I’ve been using this twice a week since and it definitely helps to keep my blackheads in check-they are usually much more noticeable and I can even see them poking up above the surface of my skin in some places. Now they’re much smaller. My skin feels smooth and hydrated after I use it. When I skip the mask for more than a few days, I can tell. My pores get more congested and it’s visible. I also like that this is a quick 5-10 minutes versus 20-30. I can use it in the middle of the day before getting ready to go out without it feeling like a huge time-suck. Rating: 4/5

Price. I got this for $26 on the Urban Outfitters website. This is one of those products I’m kind of on the fence with price-wise. I think it works well and isn’t extraordinately expensive, but at the same time I wish it was slightly cheaper. Rating: 4/5

Overall rating: 4.3/5

Overall, I really like this mask and I’m running through it pretty quickly. I noticed Sephora has picked it up, along with some of the brand’s other pore masks that I’m interested in trying. I’d recommend this to anyone who wants a quick mask that will help keep their pores in check. But don’t expect the mask to make your pores or blackheads vanish-if only there was such a miracle in a jar.

7 thoughts on “Caolin Premium Blackhead O2 Bubble Pore Pack Review

Leave a Reply

