Summer Beauty Favorites 2016

Hey all, long time no blog. I haven’t posted in a minute and have been going back and forth about what I want to do with this blog. I haven’t had time to devote to it in the past few months and once fall hits, I’m going to be in the same time crunch again. But, I’ve been trying some products that I can’t help but share because I think they’re so good!

 

1. Maybelline Master Contour Stick in Medium. I’ve tried a few drugstore cream contour products and this one has me impressed! It’s comes in 3 shades and I feel like they all are a good tone for a contour. I tried another one of the NYX contour products that looks like a double-ended concealer, but the contour shade is a bit to warm. This has both the contour and highlight melded together on a pointed stick, which at this point doesn’t bother me. I have to be a little extra careful to position the product carefully before swiping it on, but as it works it’s way down with continued use I wonder if this will be more difficult. It applies smoothly and blends very easily, no patchiness here. The highlight side is just okay, I much prefer the Nars Creamy Concealer in Custard. I still have a little bit of my Burberry Contour Pen (it lasted much longer than I expected!), but I won’t be repurchasing now that I’ve found this.

2. Holika Holika Magic Pole Mascara 2X. I have a new obsession with Asian mascaras. I had tried the Fairy Drops one in the past, but it smudged like crazy on me. These recent ones are so much better, there is no smudging and they remove easily with water. They don’t hold a curl quite as well as a waterproof formula, but they give my lashes enough length and volume after a couple of coats that I can’t complain. The formula of this one has fibers that give that added length and the wand is plastic with a spikey ball at the end. I got this one from Urban Outfitters but it’s no longer available on their site. I did see them on Amazon though. I just picked up another Asian brand I found at Ulta, hopefully it’s just as good.

3. Elta MD UV Facial Broad-Spectrum SPF 30+ Sunscreen. My skin had been going insane a couple of months ago, thankfully after a trip to the derm it’s been a million times better. I’d thought that maybe the new sunscreen I’d been trying was the culprit (it wasn’t) so I decided to try this dermatologist tested, hypoallergic one. I love it! I easily absorbs and doesn’t leave a white cast. It has a lotion consistency, but doesn’t feel heavy. The treatments I’ve been using have been drying on my skin, so I find that this also give me a little extra moisturization.

4. MAC Fix+. I’m waaaaay late to the party with this product, but so far so good! It’s a nice setting spray and I like that it sprays a fine, even mist on the skin. I still think the UD All-Nighter works best in terms of longevity, but this still does the job.

5. Estée Lauder Double Wear Foundation. I’ve always heard good things about this foundation, but the brand never really appealed to me. It’s always seemed too stuffy and old school to me. But after watching and reading many good reviews I decided to give it a try. The MUFE HD Foundation I’d been using looks great in photos and in the short term, but in the summer heat and for longer days it just doesn’t last. It gives good medium to full coverage and keeps my T-zone from getting too shiny as the day goes on. It also lasts pretty much all day, except around my nose which tends to be my problem area. I use the shade 3W1, it’s a little too light for me right now, but it’s a good match in the colder months.

6. Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder. Another cult beauty product I’ve wanted to try since ‘baking’ became a thing, but couldn’t justify buying cause let’s face it-I don’t need more setting powder. But then I ran into the travel size while in the impulse buy area (aka line) at Sephora and all of a sudden it wasn’t such a bad idea anymore. Plus, I actually like the small size because I never get through loose powders fast enough. This is probably the best one I’ve tried, it keeps my makeup looking good all day with the exception of my nose area because of how oily it can get. I typically find loose powders to be kind of a pain to use, but I find myself reaching for this one quite often.

So those are all the new (to me) things I’m loving lately. Hope everyone has been having a great summer so far! If you have any summer faves to share, you know what to do!

10 thoughts on “Summer Beauty Favorites 2016

  1. HOLY CRAP. You’re alive.
    I did a double take when I saw your post pop up on my feed. Bree? IS THAT REALLY BREE? IT IS! 😮
    Ok, I’ll stop being melodramatic… but welcome back! 🙂
    Ooh you’ve got me interested in that Holika Holika mascara now. I’ve never tried a Korean mascara, I find the Japanese ones sometimes a little too waterproof. I’ll have to see where I can get this.
    I want to try more things from Laura Mercier – I’ve used their under eye setting powder which is HG material. Might have to try that setting powder next!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! What was supposed to be a week or two turned into MONTHS. I was busy, but also not super inspired either. I suddenly got an itch to post today so hopefully I’ll be doing it more often again!
      I’m bummed UO took it that mascara off the website, I’m going to see how the one I got at Ulta works before ordering it from Amazon.
      I haven’t tried much from LM either, only their tinted moisturizer but it wasn’t for me. This powder is awesome, worth the messiness!
      Hope you’re doing well! Haven’t had a chance to go through my feed yet and catch up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

