Max Factor Masterpiece Max Mascara Review

I heard a couple of months ago that Max Factor was coming back to the US and was pretty excited about it. When I first started watching beauty videos on YouTube, I’d heard great things about the brand, but that they were no longer being sold stateside. So when I saw the Max Factor Masterpiece Max Mascara on the shelves at Target I snapped it up immediately. I couldn’t wait to try it out, even though I’m still in the middle of another tube at the moment.

Here are my thoughts. I included a snap of the claims and application tips from the back of the paper packaging.

Packaging. It’s a pretty standard tube with gold detailing on the cover and gold writing. The design reminds me of Art Deco. The mascara wand has a brush with plastic bristles, which I’m typically a fan of anyway. It’s not quite as bulky as the Covergirl mascara brushes which is nice because it’s easier to maneuver in the inter corners of my eyes. Overall, it’s a win for me. Rating: 5/5

Performance. The plastic bristles definitely help to separate the lashes and coat them evenly. The formula delivers in adding volume to my lashes without getting too clumpy after two coats. With the third I had to work a little harder to keep the separation between my lashes, but it was worth it for the extra volume it added. Your lashes still feel flexible after the formula dries, but I think the Covergirl Lash Blast holds a curl better. The smudging of this mascara is practically non-existent, it only started showing signs of darkness under the outside lower lash line after more than 12 hours of wear. This stuff delivers on pretty much all of it’s claims, so it gets my full rating here. And sorry the test photos aren’t great, I’ve been sick and just don’t have time to retake them. Rating: 5/5

Price. I got this at Target for $9.99, which seems to be midrange for mascara at the drugstore lately. Drugstore prices are definitely creeping up these days, but if the product does what it says I really can’t cimplain. And because this one delivers on everything it says, I gotta say it’s worth it. Rating: 5/5

Overall impression. This is a winner in my book. If it was more lengthening it would be practically perfect. I’m going to experiment with using a lash primer to see if it will help to add some length. I’d definitely pick this up if you see it on the shelves and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

